@
TNB Editors The Nervous Breakdown is an online culture magazine and literary community. It was founded in 2006. Our masthead can be found here.

Recent Work By TNB Editors

29983711Available from Grand Central Publishing

Sign up now to receive your copy! (Sign-up deadline for this title: January 15, 2017.)

Subscription Options

“In 1930s Korea, an earnest young woman, abandoned by the lover who has gotten her pregnant, enters into a marriage of convenience that will take her to a new life in Japan. Thus begins Lee’s luminous new novel Pachinko–a powerful meditation on what immigrants sacrifice to achieve a home in the world. Pachinko confirms Lee’s place among our finest novelists.” —Junot Díaz, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and This Is How You Lose Her

A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of A Fine Balance and Cutting for Stone.

Profoundly moving and gracefully told, Pachinko follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them. Betrayed by her wealthy lover, Sunja finds unexpected salvation when a young tubercular minister offers to marry her and bring her to Japan to start a new life.

So begins a sweeping saga of exceptional people in exile from a homeland they never knew and caught in the indifferent arc of history. In Japan, Sunja’s family members endure harsh discrimination, catastrophes, and poverty, yet they also encounter great joy as they pursue their passions and rise to meet the challenges this new home presents. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, they are bound together by deep roots as their family faces enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Roxane-Gay-Difficult-Women

Now playing on the Otherppl with Brad Listi podcast: a conversation with Roxane Gay, whose new story collection, Difficult Women, is available now from Grove Press.

This is Roxane’s second appearance on the podcast. She also guested on Episode 34, which you can listen to via Otherppl Premium.

Get the free Otherppl app.

Listen via iTunes.

Support the show at Patreon.

Vanessa-Hua-Deceit-and-Other-Possibilities

Now playing on the Otherppl with Brad Listi podcast: a conversation with Vanessa Hua, whose debut story collection, Deceit and Other Possibilities, is available now from Willow Press. 

Get the free Otherppl app.

Listen via iTunes.

Support the show at Patreon.

Masande-Ntshanga-The-Reactive

Now playing on the Otherppl with Brad Listi podcast: a conversation with Masande Ntshanga, whose debut novel The Reactive is now available in the United States from Two Dollar Radio. It is the official December pick of The Nervous Breakdown Book Club.

Get the free Otherppl app.

Listen via iTunes.

Support the show at Patreon.

holiday-spectacular-feature

This is the second annual Holiday Spectacular episode of the Otherppl with Brad Listi podcast. The guests are Melissa Broder, Gene and Jenny Morgan, Amelia Gray and Lee Shipman, Ben Loory, Rich Ferguson, and Adam Greenfield. Recorded on December 10, 2016.

 

Get the free Otherppl app.

Listen via iTunes.

Support the show at Patreon.

PS. Here are links to some things discussed in the show:

Prince on Arsenio Hall, 1991

Jimmy Stewart reads a poem about his dog on The Tonight Show

oracle-of-los-angeles-amanda-yates-garcia

The Oracle of Los Angeles is the guest on this week’s edition of the Otherppl with Brad Listi podcast. Her name is Amanda Yates Garcia. She is an artist, writer, witch, healer, and oracle.

Get the free Otherppl app.

Listen via iTunes.

Support the show at Patreon.

jason-diamond-searching-for-john-hughes

This week on the Otherppl with Brad Listi podcast, a conversation with Jason Diamond , author of the memoir Searching for John Hughes is available now from William Morrow. (Photo credit: Elyssa Goodman

Get the free Otherppl app.

Listen via iTunes.

Support the show at Patreon.

adam-soldofsky-memory-foam

This week on the Otherppl with Brad Listi podcast, a conversation with poet Adam Soldofsky , author of Memory Foam, available now from Disorder Press.

Get the free Otherppl app.

Listen via iTunes.

Support the show at Patreon.

51ipt8e0vzlAvailable from Algonquin Books

Sign up now to receive your copy! (Sign-up deadline for this title: December 15, 2016.)

Subscription Options

“Funny, sad, and smart, The Young Widower’s Handbook is a brilliant meditation on love, loss and loneliness. Part wacky road novel, part romantic comedy, Tom McAllister’s debut novel flies along yet reaches deep.” —Stewart O’Nan, author of West of Sunset

For Hunter Cady, meeting Kait was the greatest thing that ever happened to him. Otherwise unmotivated, he spent roughly half his twenty-nine years accomplishing very little, which makes him about fifteen in terms of real-life experience. But he’s the luckiest man on earth when it comes to his wife. Beautiful and confident, Kait is somehow charmed by Hunter’s awkwardness and droll humor. So when she dies quite suddenly, Hunter is crushed. Numb with grief, he stumbles forward the only way he knows how: by running away. To the dismay of her family, Hunter takes Kait’s ashes with him and heads west.

They had always meant to travel. Soon enough, he finds himself–and Kait–in encounters with characters even quirkier than he is: an overzealous Renaissance Faire worker; a raucous yet sympathetic troop of bachelorettes; a Chicago couple and their pet parrot, Elvis. He meets a much older man still searching for the wife who walked out on him years ago. Along the way are glimpses of Hunter and Kait’s beautiful, flawed, very real marriage and the strength it gives Hunter, even when contemplating a future without it. Insightful, wry, and sometimes laugh-out-loud funny, The Young Widower’s Handbook is a testament to the power of love.

kool-ad-ok

This week on the Otherppl with Brad Listi podcast, a conversation with Kool A.D., author of the novel OK , available now from Sorry House. 

Get the free Otherppl app.

Listen via iTunes.

Support the show at Patreon.

By TNB Editors

TNB Notes

The Nervous Breakdown Book Club is proud to announce its official January 2017 pick! We’ll be reading The Young Widower’s Handbook, by Tom McAllister (Algonquin Books). Sign up now to receive your copy! Or better yet, give the gift of books this holiday season! A book club subscription is a gift that keeps on giving all year long.

sonya-chung-the-loved-ones

This week on the Otherppl with Brad Listi podcast, a conversation with Sonya Chung, author of the novel The Loved Ones, available now from Relegation Books. It was the official October pick of The Nervous Breakdown Book Club.

Get the free Otherppl app.

Listen via iTunes.

Support the show at Patreon.

jade-chang-wangs-vs-the-world

This week on the Otherppl with Brad Listi podcast, a conversation with Jade Chang , author of the novel The Wangs vs. the World , available now from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. (Author photo: Teresa Flowers)

Get the free Otherppl app.

Listen via iTunes.

Support the show at Patreon.

We’ve decided, in light of recent events, to feature more political writing on TNB, and more content generally. The election and its aftermath have underscored the value and importance of great writing in our culture, the need for better dialogue. 

To do this, we need your support

Your monthly contribution will be used to pay our contributors, and to make sure that we can do our work and deliver some of the best writing on the web. 

We’ve created a Patreon page where you can make your contribution, simply and securely. 

Please know how much we appreciate your support. 

Thank you.

tdr_bookcover_reactive_grandeAvailable from Two Dollar Radio

Sign up now to receive your copy! (Sign-up deadline for this title: November 15, 2016.)

Subscription Options

“Woozy, touching… a novel that delivers an unexpected love letter to Cape Town, painting it as a place of frustrated glory. The Reactive often teems with a beauty that seems to carry on in front of its glue-huffing wasters despite themselves.” —Marian Ryan, Slate

From the winner of the PEN International New Voices Award comes the story of Lindanathi, a young HIV+ man grappling with the death of his brother, for which he feels unduly responsible. He and his friends—Cecelia and Ruan—work low-paying jobs and sell anti-retroviral drugs (during the period in South Africa before ARVs became broadly distributed). In between, they huff glue, drift through parties, and traverse the streets of Cape Town where they observe the grave material disparities of their country.

A mysterious masked man appears seeking to buy their surplus of ARVs, an offer that would present the friends with the opportunity to escape their environs, while at the same time forcing Lindanathi to confront his path, and finally, his past.

With brilliant, shimmering prose, Ntshanga has delivered a redemptive, ambitious, and unforgettable first novel.